Assuring learning excellence and readiness for a changing world



Spirit of Youth Award

2021 - Spirit Of Youth Award

First page of the PDF file: 2021SPIRITOFYOUTHHONOREES16

Sponsored By: Mankato Community Education & Recreation Advisory Council

Award Presentation: (Virtually) May 26, 2021

About The Award: 

Mankato Community Education & Recreation Advisory Council annually recognizes outstanding individuals and organizations that contributed to building assets in youth in the past year. Nomination forms are available in January- February and the awards are presented in May.

For more information, contact Melanie Schmidt at 507-387-5501 or email


Congratulations 2020 Spirit Of Youth Honorees


Ben Groebner

Mankato East High School

High School Intern - Elementary Classroom


Elizabeth (Liz) Paul

Mankato West High School

Classroom Volunteer - Roosevelt Elementary


Grace MacPherson


American Heritage Girl Program


Central High School Art Students Art Piece & Student Collaboration - Student I.D. Badge Project 

Contributors: Hezekyah Flowers, Clay Thonesavanh, Max Stolzman, & Shane Johnson


Middle School After School Youth Leaders:  

Alexander Leasman - Prairie Winds Middle School

William Hanson- Dakota Meadows Middle School

Owen Phelps - Dakota Meadows Middle School


Outstanding Youth Organization

Mavathon Minnesota State University, Mankato

Lynsey Donna Rohlfing, President


Outstanding Non Profit Organization

Mankato YWCA Programming For Girls


Outstanding Community Organizer

Pierre Ellis, Prairie Winds Middle School, Success Coach & Youth Sports Organizer


Outstanding Mentor

Shane Baier, Washington Elementary School Principal

Spirit of Youth Award Winners of 2019