Skip To Main Content

Advisory Council


To bring together a cross-section of people who reside within the boundaries of Mankato Area Public Schools to support programs, stimulate ideas and make recommendations to the Community Education Director concerning programs.


10 members selected from application on basis of expressed interest in the work of MAPS Community Education Department and their ability to represent a unique population or community perspective. General membership is by appointment from the local elected bodies which comprise the MAPS district.

Membership Application

In compliance with Minnesota Open Meeting Law, the public has a right to attend Mankato Area Public Schools Community Education Advisory Council meetings and observe the transaction of public business. Guest seating is provided for this purpose.  The public is not permitted to speak during the meeting. Meeting dates, times and locations are posted to the Mankato Area Public Schools website, under Community Education Advisory Council.  Annually, the approved slate of recipients for the Spirit of Youth Award will also be posted publicly, as it is an action taken by the Mankato Area Public Schools Community Education Advisory Council. 

Community Education Advisory Council
Meeting Dates:
  • September 27, 2023  
  • November 15, 2023
  • January 24, 2024
  • March 27, 2024
  • May 22, 2024
Meeting Time and Location:

5:00 - 6:00 pm
Lincoln Community Center
110 Fulton Street
Mankato, MN 56001

2023-2024 Meetings

Advisory Council Members

Name Term
Jim Roy, Chair 2025
Dana Niu 2025
Sarah Morgan 2024
Kaitlin Carter 2024
Ahmed (Jaffer) Mohamud 2027
Christina Shortall 2027
Lynn Waterbury 2027
Josh Berkenpas 2026
Quinn Mackie 2026
Mollie Meyer Appt. ISD77 Administrator
Liz Ratcliff Appt. ISD77 School Board
Jessica Hatanpa Appt. City of Mankato
Beth Rohrich Appt. City of Eagle Lake
Patty O'Conner Appt. Blue Earth County
Jack Kolars Appt. Nicollet County
Scott Carlson Appt. City of North Mankato